Skip to main content

Virtual Library Home Page: Citation and Plagiarism

Questions? Email us at virtuallibrarians@yacollege.edu. Help is available 7 days a week.

Welcome to the Virtual Library

Click here to get back to the Virtual Library home page

Contact the Librarian

Questions? Contact us!

virtuallibrarians@yacollege.edu
Help is available 7 days a week. 

 

The Learning Center

The Learning Center

multidisciplinary tutoring center that provides an opportunity for students to strengthen their writing skills with a focus on sharpening the ability to convey ideas clearly to an intended audience.

Visit the Learning Center for information about DLAs, Staff and Turnitin.

Tutors go on outreach so their availability changes every week. Their emails are listed on the Staff page for you to contact them and make an appointment.

The DLA page contains learning activities and PowerPoint presentations to help you with writing in APA or MLA style.

Always double check your citations!

Most databases have the option of generating a citation. It's very important to double check any computer generated citation for accuracy! 

Run your citation through:

Son of Citation Machine

OR

Check it against an example in:

OWL at Purdue APA Guide

OWL at Purdue MLA guide 

What is Plagiarism?

Paul Robeson Library (2007, November 13). What is Plagiarism? (Part 1 of 3) [Video file]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/4P05vgxDoPU.

Wondering how to cite a musical? This article will help!

How to Cite Hamilton: An American Musical

Online Writing and Citation Tools

American Psychological Association (APA) Style Website 

The official APA website contains a wide variety of support materials for using this style in your writing process. The full edition of the Style guide is not free, but the support documents are freely accessible.

Grammarly 

Sign up for a free account to help with writing and grammar.

Modern Languages Association (MLA) Website

The official MLA website contains a wide variety of support materials for using this style in your writing process. The MLA Style Center is a free companion to the MLA Handbook.

The OWL at Purdue

Excellent resources to assist with the research and writing process and all of the mechanics that go into these activities, including paraphrasing and citation. Click on APA guide or MLA guide for help with in-text citations, reference lists, stylistics, tables and view a sample paper. Also included is material on quoting and paraphrasing your research sources, as well as suggestions on how to avoid plagiarism.‚Äč

Son of Citation Machine

Highly recommended by the virtual librarians to assist you in developing accurate citations. Generates the correct citation, both for your reference list and intext, but does not organize them for you.

Academic Integrity

Even if you cite your work correctly, you need to be aware of how not to plagiarize. The Council of Writing Program Administrators has prepared a definition of plagiarism:

In an instructional setting, plagiarism occurs when a writer deliberately uses someone else’s language, ideas, or other original (not common-knowledge) material without acknowledg­ing its source.

Defending and Avoiding Plagiarism: The WPA Statement on Best Practices. Council of Writing Program Administrators. Retrieved August 6, 2015 from: 

http://wpacouncil.org/positions/WPAplagiarism.pdf

These online resources will help you learn how to avoid plagiarism:

OWL at Purdue: Avoiding Plagiarism The OWL has several pages of information on avoiding plagiarism

Plagiarism.org This free resources contains the following modules: plagiarism 101, citing sources, ask the experts and resources

Turnitin

Improve your writing with Turnitin!

To access Turnitin:
  • contact your instructor for the class password
  • know your class ID number
  • visit turnitin.com 

Reference Management Tools

Alternatively you can use reference management tools but be prepared to invest time in learning to use it. Some tools are free, but some are not. A free basic system is Mendeley and an open source alternative is Zotero. If you are prepared to pay, then you have a broader range of choices with:

  • ProCite
  • EndNote
  • Reference Manager
  • RefWorks BibTeX 

The Virtual Librarians do not use any of these reference management tools and therefore are not able to advise or support in their acquisition or use.

 

Find 

Program Resources

Research Aids

College Services

A-Z List of Databases

Current Events in the Arts

Faculty Resources

GoReact Resources

How to Access Other Libraries 

Library Homepage

Mobile Apps 

New Kids Assignment

Privilege & Oppression Resources

Reference Service Policy

Video Tutorials

Breadth of Knowledge

Dance

Music/Voice

Theatre

Citation & Plagiarism

Critical Thinking

Evaluating Online Sources

How to do Research

Open Access eBooks & Journals

Writing & Studying Effectively

 

 

Academic Catalog

Financial Aid Steps 

Learning Center

Privacy Policy

Scholarship Information

School Performance Fact Sheets

Student Services